Previous SEMI-THERM Scholarship Winners

P. K. Mulay Memorial Scholarship ($1,500)

for Best Student Paper

Accurate Thermal Transient Measurements Interpretation of Monochromatic LEDs

Anton Alexeev, Eindhoven University of Technology


Celsia Inc. Scholarship ($1,000)
for Best Student Paper
in the area of Two-Phase Thermal Management

Assessment of Critical Heat Flux on Finite Size Surfaces Under Pool Boiling

Julia Reed, University of California, Los Angeles


Center for Energy-Smart Electronic Systems Scholarship ($1,000)
for Best Student Paper
in the area of Energy-Smart Electronic Systems Technology

Airflow Management Using Active Air Dampers in Presence of a Dynamic Workload in Data Centers

Sadegh Khalili, Binghamton University-SUNY, NY

To be eligible, candidates must: 

  • Be senior undergraduate or graduate students at a recognized university
  • Part of a significant contributor on an academic or industry team
  • Be the first or second author of the technical paper
  • Be the paper presenter at SEMI-THERM

Scholarship award selection will be based on: 

  • Originality of the reported activity
  • Technical proficiency demonstrated in the paper and the presentation
  • Contribution to contemporary electronics thermal management body of knowledge

The final selection decision will be made by the paper selection committee, including a representative of the scholarship sponsor.

SEMI-THERM reserves the right to not award the specific area scholarships if 

  • There are less than three student-submitted papers in the topic area, and
  • No student-submitted paper meets the criteria described above

Scholarship awards will be sent to each selectee within 15 days after SEMI-THERM.